new | old | about | rings | email | gbook | notes | host | image | design | my fantasy | another release | tales of the emperess | jessa's story | chris' secrets |

matt magus again
Saturday, Jun. 28, 2003, 11:58 am

I've never before realized

How much of myself

Was in places

Other then where I was currently at

But in everyone I've ever loved

Whether mutual or not

Everyone I've ever known

Has a little speck of myself in them

My breath has streached to each coast

From the Big Apple to Santa Cruz

And all points in between

And even further still

Until you would be hard pressed

To find a land

That hasn't tasted a drop of my blood

My heartbeat has been heard

In the Valley of the Dead

And my thoughts resonate in Venician cafes

In the heart of Japan

School children speak of me as if

I were a legend of folklore

But I'm taking it all back tonight

From the Sonora mountains

Where my childhood was spent

To the Mississippi River

Where I lost my mind

For a while

It all comes back to me

All of the energy I've placed

In every place I've been

Is on it's way home

So that I may implode properly

And be devoured utterly

By myself

Goodnight my friends

~Matt Magus

There are doubts planted everywhere

They reach out like vines to entangle me

And keep me from progressing

Like wolves they howl at me

From unknown places

Hidden all around

Trying to scare me

Into sitting still

But the only way

That these demons of the mind

Can trap me

Is if I let them

Even my lonliness

Is just a specter

That disappears

When the light of reason

Shines down on it

These things are monsters

That hide under the beds of adults

Only real to themselves

And I refuse to bow

Before figmentary shadows

~Matt Magus

last - next

Lyrics from Savage Garden's Crash and Burn and are copyrighted to Savage Garden